Vigorous Traditions Fought In Cricket

Palmerston North Boys High SchoolSt Patricks College Silverstream

Cricket is a sport full of tradition and this summer has seen time-honoured trophies competed for vigorously and in great spirit.

In late January, Hamilton Boys’ High School won the 20th annual Super 8 competition beating Tauranga Boys’ College in the final by eight wickets.

Two proud Super 8 schools are Palmerston North Boys’ High School and Napier Boys’ High School. Every year since 1909 they have contested the Challenge Shield. Unfortunately the first day of the two day fixture was rained off at Nelson Park, Napier so it was decided to play a 50-over match on the second day.

Palmerston North Captain Bryn Wilson lost the toss and was asked to bat on a green wicket with gloomy overhead conditions. Palmerston North lost two quick wickets before a period of consolidation followed.

Palmerston North struggled however to build consistent pressure and lost wickets at regular intervals and were eventually dismissed for 205 in the 48th over.  Ruben Love held the innings together for Palmerston North scoring an outstanding 106.

Defending an average total on a quick outfield wasn’t going to be easy for Palmerston North, but Bryn Wilson secured 4-20 from his ten overs as Napier was bowled out for 183 in the 47th over.

First presented in 1908, the Heathcote Williams Shield is named after its donor and the New Zealand Cricket Council’s first President, Edward Heathcote Williams. In its 110-year history, the Shield has been played for intermittently by schools throughout the country with Christchurch Boys’ High School, Auckland Grammar School, and Palmerston North Boys’ High School featuring most prominently.

In 1987 it was presented to the New Zealand Cricket Museum for safekeeping and has been revived in Wellington where the current holders are St Patrick’s College, Silverstream. Silverstream retained the trophy against Scots College on Saturday, but reside outside the top three of the CricHQ Premiership.

Silverstream appeared to be struggling early in the Scots match as Scots opening batsmen Sheil Gandhi and Nicholas Cooke put on 56 for the first wicket. When Cooke was caught behind by Silverstream keeper Danco van Graan off the bowling of Jono Tuffin for 14 it triggered a Scots collapse. Scots lost their last nine wickets for 29 runs. Gandhi top scored with 37 off 61 balls. Henry Fraser was potent for Silverstream finishing with figures of 7-16 off 7.2 overs.

Silverstream made light work of the chase cruising to the target in the 15th over and only two wickets down. Silverstream opening batsman Tom Jones smashed 61 not out off 45 balls.

Elsewhere defending champions Hutt International Boys’ School defeated Tawa College by six wickets in a low scoring affair to stay first equal with Wellington College who thumped St Pats Town by 209 runs.

Tim Robinson was in imperious form for Wellington College thrashing 139 off 90 balls as Wellington posted a mammoth 364-6 off 50 overs. St Pats Town was never in the hunt during their chase, skittled out for 125 in the 38th over. Harry Hunter finished the pick of the Wellington College bowlers with 3-30 off ten overs.

For move coverage of Wellington cricket follow Wareham Sports Media: