McAuslan Blasts Otago BHS into National Cricket Finals

For a second consecutive season Otago Boys’ High School have qualified for the National First XI cricket finals in Christchurch in December.

In the Otago regional final yesterday Otago crushed Waitaki Boys’ High School by 238 runs.

Otago batted first and the opening pair of Max Chu and Cameron McAuslan shared 151 for the first wicket in 23 overs. Their aggressive stand laid the platform for a huge score and effectively crushed Waitaki’s ambitions early in the match.

Chu was the first dismissed for 41, but McAuslan powered on to score 156 off only 137 balls. His brutal innings lasted 47 overs and featured 23 boundaries. McAuslan was ably supported by Hunter Kindley (44) and Jarryd Taig (39) as Otago was bowled out for 345 in the 50th over. Nathan Smith was the shining light in Waitaki’s bowling performance. The Volts right-arm fast medium took 5-47.

In reply Waitaki was never in contention. They were rolled for 107 in the 24th over. Thomas Hutton top scored with 20. Tim Horton took 3-12 for Otago.

 OBHS First XI

Otago Boys’ High School 1st XI:  Top (from left) Max Chu, Jack Pryde, Joe Turner, Jarryd Taig, Gus Wood, Taine Bayly, Ken Rust (Coach) Bottom (from left) Tim Horton, Ben Lockrose, Jackson Miller, Cameron McAuslan, Declan Su’a, Hunter Kindley.