Christchurch Boys’ High School out to defend National Cricket title

Christchurch Boys High School

Christchurch Boys’ High School have won the National cricket title four times in the last five years and with nine titles overall they have claimed the crown more times than any other school.

Christchurch Boys’ has produced some of New Zealand’s great cricketers including, Sir Richard Hadlee, Chris Martin and Corey Anderson. Fraser Sheat from last year’s First XI has already played first class cricket for Canterbury.

Christchurch has six returning players from last year’s championship winning team. This year the squad features nine Year 13 boys. Below the team last year.

Image result for christchurch boys high school cricket 2016 gillette cup

Coach Mark Lane also coached the Christchurch First XI hockey team to the Rankin Cup final in September. Lane shares some insights into developing a winning culture.

“I believe consistency is the key to success. You have to start well and maintain a high level of performance to come out on top at the end of the week. The strength of our squad this year has been depth. We have had 14 players battling for 12 spaces. There is good competition in the squad and this means we have been able to demand a high level of commitment and performance from the boys.”


Coaches: Mark Lane and Matt Parr

Players: Ben Hartland (C), Ted Whelan, Henry Workman, Louie Chapman, Simon Yorston, Mitchell Hay, Jack Harris, Archie Redfern, Olly Lewis, Josh Mariu, Callum Cameron, Oscar Redfern, Will Smith, Charlie Sidey

2017. Honours

Christchurch won the local Premier 1st XI one day competition last week beating St Andrews College in the final. To reach Nationals, there is a knockout competition in the Canterbury region where the top four teams are decided in Term one. In term four, Christchurch beat St Bede’s College and St Andrews College to reach the Nationals.


Multiple Codes

Ben Hartland – 1st XI hockey

Louie Chapman – 1st XV rugby

Simon Yorston – 1st XI hockey

Olly Lewis – 1st XV rugby